About 2017-02-15T13:56:17+00:00

About Us

Committed to Excellence.

The UH Mānoa Graduate Student Organization currently represents the academic interests of over 5,000 graduate students attending the flagship campus of the UH system.

 

We place a particular emphasis on fostering excellence in research at both the PhD and Masterʻs levels. As such, we endeavor to facilitate research initiatives through our Grants & Awards program, as well as other funding and networking opportunities.

 

We also provide input on all issues affecting UH Mānoa graduate students. With representatives sitting on over 40 university committees, and sustained participation in a wide variety of graduate student, campus, and community events, we strive to provide students with a supportive academic environment.

Meet Your Representatives

2016 – 2017 GSO Executive Council

Officers

Amy McKee

President

Vice President

Kepo‘o Keli‘ipa‘akaua 

Secretary

LaJoya Shelly

Treasurer

Hannah Liebreich 

Committee Chairs

Jay Purvis
Jay PurvisAcademic Affairs
Benton Rodden
Benton RoddenAdvocacy
Taylor Lewis
Taylor LewisEvents
Rachel Wade
Rachel WadeGrants & Awards
Zoe Vorsino
Zoe VorsinoInfo and Co
Genelle Watkins
Genelle WatkinsAt-Large: Sustainability
ʻIlima Long
ʻIlima LongAt-Large: Diversity
Henry Viereck
Henry ViereckAt-Large: Special Projects

General Assembly

The list below is not complete. If your department representative is not listed, contact your department Graduate Chair, and let us know!

Department
GSO Department email
Rep
Alternate
Accountinggsoacc@hawaii.edu
American StudiesgsoAMST@hawaii.eduJonathan Valdez P. Hutson Ladner
Animal SciencesgsoANSC@hawaii.eduSweetie KuehuNicole Correa
Anthropologygsoanth@hawaii.eduHenry Viereck
Architecturegsoarch@hawaii.eduLin Whipkey
Art & Art HistorygsoART@hawaii.eduAshley FloresJan Dickey
Asian StudiesgsoASAN@hawaii.eduMark FergusonDavid Coldren
AstronomygsoASTR@hawaii.eduDenise HungElizabeth Toller
Atheletic Traininggsoathl@hawaii.eduSanam Rezazadeh
Atmospheric SciencesgsoATMO@hawaii.eduChris GoodmanAnnette Foerster
Biological EngineeringgsoBE@hawaii.eduRaymond Hoptowit
Botanygsobot@hawaii.eduGeorgia Hart Amy Hruska
Business AdministrationgsoBUS@hawaii.eduClaudia Vaughan
Cellular and Molecular Biologygsocmb@hawaii.eduMalina IveyMegan Wallace
Chemistrygsochem@hawaii.eduStephen ParrishJulie Cramer
Civil EngineeringgsoCEE@hawaii.eduMelia IwamotoMohammadreza Hasemi
CommunicationgsoCOM@hawaii.eduKapiolani Ching
Communication Sciences and Disorders
Communication and Information Sciencesgsocis@hawaii.eduJennifer Beamer Terence Rose
Communicologygsocomg@hawaii.eduDori Yeh
Computer SciencegsoCS@hawaii.eduSerge Negrashov
Curriculum StudiesgsoEDCS@hawaii.eduKahea Faria
DancegsoDNCE@hawaii.eduToni PasionChristine Maxwell
Developmental and Reproductive Biologygsodrb@hawaii.eduChantell BalaanVania Filipa Lima Fernandes
East Asian Languages and Literaturesgsoeall@hawaii.eduHilson ReidpathChiyeon Hwang
Early Childhood Education
Economicsgsoecon@hawaii.eduDeveraux TalagiJonathan Sweeney
Educational AdministrationgsoEDEA@hawaii.eduNalani Balutski
Educational FoundationsgsoEDEF@hawaii.eduWendan LiChisato Nonaka
Educational PsychologygsoEDEP@hawaii.eduTingting ReidNicole Schlaack
Electrical EngineeringgsoEE@hawaii.eduEhsan YavariXiaomeng Gao
Englishgsoeng@hawaii.eduScott Kaalele
Entomology
Epidemiologygsoepi@hawaii.eduYoski KawaiKathleen Plaza
Food SciencegsoFS@hawaii.eduBiyu Wu
GeographygsoGEOG@hawaii.eduAurora KigawaDesiree Simandjunta
Geology/GeophysicsgsoGG@hawaii.eduBrett Walker Sam Mitchell
Hawaiian
Hawaiian Studiesgsohaw@hawaii.eduKelsy Jorgensen
History
Kinesiology and Rehab Sciencegsokrs@hawaii.eduMorgan Kocher Sanam Rezazadeh
Languages and Literature of Europe and the Americas
Library and Information Science (LIS)gsolib@hawaii.eduKrystal Kakimoto
Linguisticsgsoling@hawaii.eduAmber Camp
Learning Design and TechnologygsoLTEC@hawaii.eduMinara Mordecai
Marine Biologygsomb@hawaii.eduEileen Nalley Bethany Coffey
Mathematicsgsomath@hawaii.eduDon Krasky
Mechanical EngineeringgsoME@hawaii.eduJeffrey OshiroMahdi Motalleb
Microbiologygsomicr@hawaii.eduAmanda Shore-MaggioKent Koster
Molecular Bioscience and Bioengineeringgsombb@hawaii.eduRoberto RodriguezLena Diaz
Musicgsomus@hawaii.eduJohn Paul BrabantSi Wang
NREMgsonrem@hawaii.eduKendra BishopNate Wehr
Nursing gsonurs@hawaii.eduYee Wing Wong
NutritiongsoNSPhD@hawaii.eduUtsav Tiwari
Nutritional SciencesgsoNSMS@hawaii.eduTeresa Lemoon
Ocean Resources EngineeringgsoORE@hawaii.eduTroy Heitmann
Oceanographygsoocn@hawaii.eduKristina RempleEmily Young
Pacific Island StudiesgsoPACS@hawaii.eduJoseph Halaufia
PhilosophygsoPHIL@hawaii.eduMIchael DufresneMatt Fujimoto
PhysicsgsoPHYS@hawaii.eduJeffrey SchuelerChris Ketter
Political SciencegsoPOLS@hawaii.eduJonathan HuiSophie Kim
Psychologygsopsy@hawaii.eduEmilee TurnerJoy Agner
Public AdmingsoPUBA@hawaii.eduAmot AtanekaMudassar Iqbal/Solongo Tsetsegmaa
Public HealthgsoPH@hawaii.eduChevelle Davis Sasha Madan
Religiongsorel@hawaii.eduAaron LeonardiAmanda Candens
Second Language Studies gsosls@hawaii.eduYuhan LinMyra Rafalovich
Social WelfaregsoSWphd@hawaii.eduRichard AlborotoYoonjung Cha
Social WorkgsoMSW@hawaii.eduJared PerezPumehana Cabral
Sociologygsosoc@hawaii.eduMark Willingham
Special Educationgsosped@hawaii.eduMichael Sheehey
TeachinggsoTEACH@hawaii.eduJacqueline MeggsCarli Ing
Theatergsothea@hawaii.eduChrista EleftherakisMarc Marcos
Travel Industry Managementgsotim@hawaii.eduWenyi Cao
Tropical MedicinegsoTRMD@hawaii.eduJourden PosnerDavid Siemann
Tropical Plant Pathologygsotpp@hawaii.eduPhilip Waisen
Tropical Plant and Soil Sciencesgsotpss@hawaii.eduRoshan PaudelKauai Perez
Urban PlanninggsoDURP@hawaii.eduMaitry BiswasBernardo Gonzalez
ZoologygsoZOOL@hawaii.eduVan WishingradJessica Maxfield
East-West Center (non-voting, non-G&A member)Kazufumi Taira