About 2018-04-12T19:02:15+00:00

About Us

Committed to Excellence.

The UH Mānoa Graduate Student Organization currently represents the academic interests of over 5,000 graduate students attending the flagship campus of the UH system.

 

We place a particular emphasis on fostering excellence in research at both the PhD and Masterʻs levels. As such, we endeavor to facilitate research initiatives through our Grants & Awards program, as well as other funding and networking opportunities.

 

We also provide input on all issues affecting UH Mānoa graduate students. With representatives sitting on over 40 university committees, and sustained participation in a wide variety of graduate student, campus, and community events, we strive to provide students with a supportive academic environment.

Meet Your Representatives

2017 – 2018 GSO Executive Council

Officers

Taylor Lewis
Taylor LewisPresident
Hannah Liebreich
Hannah LiebreichVice President
Celina Herrera
Celina HerreraSecretary
R.L. Hughes
R.L. HughesTreasurer

Committee Chairs

Trish Tupou
Trish TupouAcademic Affairs
Lucie Knor
Lucie KnorAdvocacy
Tom Iwanicki
Tom IwanickiEmployment & Compensation Chair
Rebecca Goldschmidt
Rebecca GoldschmidtEvents
Rachael Wade
Rachael WadeGrants & Awards
Diliaur Tellei
Diliaur TelleiInformation & Communications
Michele Cantwell
Michele CantwellParliamentarian
ʻIlima Long
ʻIlima LongAt-Large: Diversity
Genelle Watkins
Genelle WatkinsAt-Large: Sustainability

General Assembly

The list below is not complete. If your department representative is not listed, contact your department Graduate Chair, and let us know!

Department
GSO Department Email
Rep
Alternate
2nd Alternate
Accountinggsoacc@hawaii.edu
American StudiesgsoAMST@hawaii.eduJonathan ValdezTyler GreenhillKatherine Achacoso
Animal SciencesgsoANSC@hawaii.edu
Anthropologygsoanth@hawaii.eduHenry ViereckMax PinsonneaultBrendan Flanagan
Architecturegsoarch@hawaii.edu
Art & Art HistorygsoART@hawaii.edu
Asian StudiesgsoASAN@hawaii.edu
AstronomygsoASTR@hawaii.eduZach ClaytorElizabeth TollerDenise Hung
Atheletic Traininggsoathl@hawaii.edu
Atmospheric SciencesgsoATMO@hawaii.edu
Biological EngineeringgsoBE@hawaii.edu
Botanygsobot@hawaii.eduGeorgia FredelucesAmy HruskaAshley McGuigan
Business AdministrationgsoBUS@hawaii.eduClaudia VaughanJeromy Pfliger
Cellular and Molecular Biologygsocmb@hawaii.eduMalina IveyElizabeth LawsRoss Villiger
Chemistrygsochem@hawaii.eduJosh GurrJulie Cramer
Civil & Environmental EngineeringgsoCEE@hawaii.eduMelia IwamotoSabrina Diemert
CommunicationgsoCOM@hawaii.edu
Communication Sciences and DisordersMatthew KanekoaTerence Rose
Communication and Information Sciencesgsocis@hawaii.eduMatthew KanekoaTerence Rose
Communicologygsocomg@hawaii.eduRobert CasaleJennifer Belon
Computer SciencegsoCS@hawaii.eduSerge NegrashovAnis Hamadati
Curriculum StudiesgsoEDCS@hawaii.eduKahea FariaMichelle Mahi
DancegsoDNCE@hawaii.eduSophia CarterChristine Maxwell
Developmental and Reproductive Biologygsodrb@hawaii.eduChantell BalaanHieu NguyenVania Fernandez
East Asian Languages and Literaturesgsoeall@hawaii.edu
Early Childhood EducationRyler NielsenHyun-Jung AnReed Riggs
Economicsgsoecon@hawaii.eduMel LorenzoHazel Hotchandani
Educational AdministrationgsoEDEA@hawaii.eduNalani BalutskiAmy McKeeKenny Lopez
Educational FoundationsgsoEDEF@hawaii.eduMatthew Petrasek
Educational PsychologygsoEDEP@hawaii.eduTingting ReidNicole SchlaackKazufumi Taira
Electrical EngineeringgsoEE@hawaii.eduEhsan YavariXiaomeng Gao
Englishgsoeng@hawaii.eduScott KaaleleJanet Graham
Entomology
Epidemiologygsoepi@hawaii.eduYoski KawaiKathleen Plaza
Food SciencegsoFS@hawaii.eduBiyu Wu
GeographygsoGEOG@hawaii.eduMyles RitchieAurora KigawaJacob Henry
Geology/GeophysicsgsoGG@hawaii.eduBrett WalkerDiamond Tachera
Hawaiian Studiesgsohaw@hawaii.eduKelsy JorgensenKepoo Keliipaakaua
HistoryTokikake Li Toki IiMei Xu
Kinesiology and Rehab Sciencegsokrs@hawaii.edu
Languages and Literature of Europe and the Americas
Learning Design and TechnologygsoLTEC@hawaii.eduVera BlalockJoseph Peters
Library and Information Science (LIS)gsolib@hawaii.eduAlissa HugelKrystal Kakimoto (Narusaki)Sarah Nakashima
Linguisticsgsoling@hawaii.eduJenny SouKevin BaetscherAmber Camp
Marine Biologygsomb@hawaii.eduElaine LuoEileen NalleyAngela Richards-Dona
Mathematicsgsomath@hawaii.eduDaniel Flores
Matsunaga Institute for Peace & Conflict ResolutionMarc Malate
Mechanical EngineeringgsoME@hawaii.eduMahdi MotallebNavid TafaghoodiShawyun Sariri
Microbiologygsomicr@hawaii.edu
Molecular Bioscience and Bioengineeringgsombb@hawaii.eduJoey OokaRoberto Rodriguez
Musicgsomus@hawaii.eduAndrew FilsonJohn Paul BrabantAaron Singer
NREMgsonrem@hawaii.eduKendra BishopYufen HuangNate Wehr
Nursinggsonurs@hawaii.edu
NutritiongsoNSPhD@hawaii.eduChinchin Zhao
Nutritional SciencesgsoNSMS@hawaii.eduSolange MajewskiTeresa Lemoon
Ocean Resources EngineeringgsoORE@hawaii.eduTroy Heitmann
Oceanographygsoocn@hawaii.eduKristina RempleEmily Young
Pacific Island StudiesgsoPACS@hawaii.eduElyssa Santos
PhilosophygsoPHIL@hawaii.eduMIchael DufresneMatt FujimotoPavel Stankov
PhysicsgsoPHYS@hawaii.eduChris KetterBrian CrowKathleen Tatem
Political SciencegsoPOLS@hawaii.eduMathew MarkmanMichelle Brown
Psychologygsopsy@hawaii.eduEmilee TurnerMichael JubergSharie Brown
Public Administration Program (PUBA) gsoPUBA@hawaii.eduAmot AtanekaGuatam Anandvernon yoshida
Public HealthgsoPH@hawaii.eduChevelle DavisSasha Madan
Religiongsorel@hawaii.eduRicky Crum
Second Language Studiesgsosls@hawaii.eduCarrie BachRaquel Reinagel
Social WelfaregsoSWphd@hawaii.eduRichard AlborotoYoonjung Cha
Social Work & WelfaregsoMSW@hawaii.eduNicole Woolsey
Sociologygsosoc@hawaii.eduMark Willingham
Special Educationgsosped@hawaii.eduMichael Sheehey
TeachinggsoTEACH@hawaii.eduSarah CauthenCarli Ing
Theatergsothea@hawaii.eduChrista EleftherakisMarc Marcos
Travel Industry Managementgsotim@hawaii.edu
Tropical MedicinegsoTRMD@hawaii.eduPayal MajarajAlex SettelChelsea Nichols
Tropical Plant and Soil Sciencesgsotpss@hawaii.eduRoshan PaudelKauai PerezMax Bendes
Tropical Plant Pathologygsotpp@hawaii.eduPhilip Waisen
Urban PlanninggsoDURP@hawaii.eduMaitry BiswasBernardo Gonzalez
Women's Studies
ZoologygsoZOOL@hawaii.eduVan WishingradJessica Maxfield
East-West Center (non-voting, non-G&A member)Michael Schainfeld