About2018-11-16T11:39:14+00:00

About Us

Committed to Excellence.

The UH Mānoa Graduate Student Organization currently represents the academic interests of over 5,000 graduate students attending the flagship campus of the UH system.

 

We place a particular emphasis on fostering excellence in research at both the PhD and Masterʻs levels. As such, we endeavor to facilitate research initiatives through our Grants & Awards program, as well as other funding and networking opportunities.

 

We also provide input on all issues affecting UH Mānoa graduate students. With representatives sitting on over 40 university committees, and sustained participation in a wide variety of graduate student, campus, and community events, we strive to provide students with a supportive academic environment.

Meet Your Representatives

2018 – 2019 GSO Executive Council

Officers

Jonathan Valdez
Jonathan ValdezPresident
Daniel Flores
Daniel FloresVice President
Maria Tauala
Maria TaualaSecretary
Mark Willingham
Mark WillinghamTreasurer

Committee Chairs

Several Committee Chair positions for the 2018-19 Academic Year are currently open for application. See below for which ones are currently open. To inquire or apply, email gsopres@hawaii.edu.
Trish Tupou
Trish TupouAcademic Affairs
Hannah Liebreich
Hannah LiebreichAdvocacy
Samphoas Meas
Samphoas MeasEmployment & Compensation Chair
Rebecca Maria Goldschmidt
Rebecca Maria GoldschmidtEvents
Rachael Wade
Rachael WadeGrants & Awards
Jennifer Belon
Jennifer Belon Information & Communications
Position Open
Position OpenParliamentarian
Position Open
Position OpenAt-Large: Diversity
Emilee Turner
Emilee TurnerAt-Large: Merit Based Scholarship
Ari Eisenstat
Ari EisenstatSustainability

General Assembly

The list below is not complete. If your department representative is not listed, contact your department Graduate Chair, and let us know!

Department
GSO Department Email
Rep
Alternate
2nd Alternate
Accountinggsoacc@hawaii.edu
American StudiesgsoAMST@hawaii.eduKatherine AchacosoTyler Greenhill
Animal SciencesgsoANSC@hawaii.eduCody Petro Sakuma
Anthropologygsoanth@hawaii.eduMaura Stephens
Architecturegsoarch@hawaii.edu
Art & Art HistorygsoART@hawaii.eduCody AndersonKatherine Kazlauskas
Asian StudiesgsoASAN@hawaii.edu
AstronomygsoASTR@hawaii.eduDenise Hung
Atheletic Traininggsoathl@hawaii.edu
Atmospheric SciencesgsoATMO@hawaii.edu
Biological EngineeringgsoBE@hawaii.edu
Botanygsobot@hawaii.eduPatricia SendaoAmy HruskaAshley McGuigan
Business AdministrationgsoBUS@hawaii.eduClaudia VaughanJeromy Pfliger
Cellular and Molecular Biologygsocmb@hawaii.eduMalina IveyElizabeth LawsRoss Villiger
Chemistrygsochem@hawaii.eduJosh GurrJulie Cramer
Civil & Environmental EngineeringgsoCEE@hawaii.eduSabrina DiemertJoachim Schneider
CommunicationgsoCOM@hawaii.eduKrystal Hope
Communication Sciences and DisordersMatthew KanekoaTerence Rose
Communication and Information Sciencesgsocis@hawaii.eduKelsea HosodaStanislava Gardasevic
Communicologygsocomg@hawaii.eduJennifer Belon Brent Duarte
Computer SciencegsoCS@hawaii.eduSerge NegrashovAnis Hamadati
Curriculum StudiesgsoEDCS@hawaii.eduKristina WhatleyMichelle Mahi
DancegsoDNCE@hawaii.eduSophia CarterChristine Maxwell
Developmental and Reproductive Biologygsodrb@hawaii.eduChantell BalaanHieu NguyenVania Fernandez
East Asian Languages and Literaturesgsoeall@hawaii.eduRyler NielsenHyun-Jung AnReed Riggs
Early Childhood Education
Economicsgsoecon@hawaii.eduMel LorenzoHazel Hotchandani
Educational AdministrationgsoEDEA@hawaii.edu
Educational FoundationsgsoEDEF@hawaii.eduMatthew Petrasek
Educational PsychologygsoEDEP@hawaii.eduSean MosierNicole SchlaackKazufumi Taira
Electrical EngineeringgsoEE@hawaii.eduEhsan YavariXiaomeng Gao
Englishgsoeng@hawaii.eduJanet GrahamScott Kaalele
Entomologygsoento@hawaii.eduMason Russo
Epidemiologygsoepi@hawaii.eduYosuke Kawai
Food SciencegsoFS@hawaii.eduJustin CalpitoBiyu Wu
GeographygsoGEOG@hawaii.eduMyles RitchieAurora KigawaJacob Henry
Geology/GeophysicsgsoGG@hawaii.eduBrett WalkerDiamond Tachera
Hawaiiangsohaw@hawaii.eduMiki Cook
Hawaiian Studiesgsohwst@hawaii.eduKawena ElkingtonKepoo Keliipaakaua
Historygsohist@hawaii.eduRichard BarnesMei Xu
Kinesiology and Rehab Sciencegsokrs@hawaii.edu
Languages and Literature of Europe and the Americas
Learning Design and TechnologygsoLTEC@hawaii.eduVera BlalockJoseph Peters
Library and Information Science (LIS)gsolib@hawaii.eduAlissa Hugel
Linguisticsgsoling@hawaii.eduSydney LudlowJenny SouKevin Baetscher
Marine Biologygsomb@hawaii.eduElaine LuoEileen NalleyAngela Richards-Dona
Mathematicsgsomath@hawaii.eduSana Habib
Matsunaga Institute for Peace & Conflict ResolutionMarc Malate
Mechanical EngineeringgsoME@hawaii.eduShawyun SaririZahra Khashei Varnamkhasti
Microbiologygsomicr@hawaii.edu
Molecular Bioscience and Bioengineeringgsombb@hawaii.eduRoberto Rodriguez
Musicgsomus@hawaii.eduAndrew FilsonJohn Paul BrabantAaron Singer
NREMgsonrem@hawaii.eduHannah Hubank
Nursinggsonurs@hawaii.edu
NutritiongsoNSPhD@hawaii.eduChloe PanizzaRic BarronVanessa Almeida Araujo
Nutritional SciencesgsoNSMS@hawaii.eduChenchen Zhao
Ocean Resources EngineeringgsoORE@hawaii.eduTroy Heitmann
Oceanographygsoocn@hawaii.eduEmily YoungAndrian Gajigan
Pacific Island StudiesgsoPACS@hawaii.eduElyssa Santos
PhilosophygsoPHIL@hawaii.eduHannah KlinePavel Stankov
PhysicsgsoPHYS@hawaii.eduChris KetterBrian CrowKathleen Tatem
Political SciencegsoPOLS@hawaii.eduMathew MarkmanMichelle Brown
Psychologygsopsy@hawaii.eduCelina HerreraJoy AgnerMichael Juberg
Public Administration Program (PUBA) gsoPUBA@hawaii.eduAmot AtanekaGuatam Anandvernon yoshida
Public HealthgsoPH@hawaii.eduKatey PeckChevelle Davis
Religiongsorel@hawaii.eduRicky Crum
Second Language Studiesgsosls@hawaii.eduKathleen GriffinLes Black
Social WelfaregsoSWphd@hawaii.eduRichard AlborotoYoonjung Cha
Social Work & WelfaregsoMSW@hawaii.eduUyanga Batzogs Nicole WoolseyKelli Anne Ganeku
Sociologygsosoc@hawaii.eduJon Fernq
Special Educationgsosped@hawaii.eduMichael Sheehey
TeachinggsoTEACH@hawaii.edu
Theatergsothea@hawaii.eduMarc MarcosMaria HouarScott Felluss
Travel Industry Managementgsotim@hawaii.eduAndrei Shkvorov
Tropical MedicinegsoTRMD@hawaii.eduShaw ChunAlex SettelChelsea Nichols
Tropical Plant and Soil Sciencesgsotpss@hawaii.eduIshwora DhunganaMax BendesKauai Perez
Tropical Plant Pathologygsotpp@hawaii.eduPhilip Waisen
Urban PlanninggsoDURP@hawaii.eduLena PhomsouvanhAmanda Rothschild
Women's Studies
ZoologygsoZOOL@hawaii.eduVan WishingradJessica MaxfieldSean Canfield
East-West Center (non-voting, non-G&A member)Brian Kim