GSO || About

GSO Elections 2015


The GSO Assembly is a representative body, with each graduate program receiving a vote.

The Assembly meets monthly.

Agenda are made available one week before the meeting.

Assembly meetings are open to the public.

GSO Assembly graduate program representatives or representative alternates are to participate in the GSO Assembly monthly meetings and keep their constituents informed of GSO activities.

GSO Assembly graduate program representatives must review all and every grant proposals before graduate students applications can be approved.

Failure for a graduate program representative (or representative alternate) to participate in the monthly Assembly meeting will result in all grants proposals originating from graduate students in her or his program to be set aside for review at a later date; specifically, until the representative or the representative alternate is available to participate in the review process at a subsequent GSO Assembly meeting.

The list below is not complete. If your department representative is not there, try to contact your department Graduate Chair, who is a faculty member and let us know! Mahalo.

Here is a list of programs which should have GSO representation

Current Assembly Members:

unfilled Accounting
Billie Lee / Huston Ladner (alt) American studies
Jonathan Onaga / Utsav Prakash Tiwari (alt) Animal Sciences
Lindsey Harris/ Deirdre Clyde (alt) Anthropology
Elena Brown Architecture
Kamram Moen-Samimi Art
Kamram Moen-Samimi Art History
Ruby Macdougall Asian Studies
Kelley Blumenthal Astronomy
unfilled Athletic Training
Vincent Cleveland Biological Engineering
Rachael Wade Botany
Brian Lucas Business Administration
Aaron Rose Cellular and Molecular Biology
Stephen Parrish Chemistry
Liang Shi Civil and Environmental Engineering
Felix Ikuomola Clinical Research
Misty Leilani Cordeiro Communication
unfilled Communication Sciences and Disorders
Weranuj Ariyasriwatana Communication and Information Sciences
Katie Tuisalo'o Communicology
Lisa Miller Computer Science
Kahea Faria Curriculum Studies
Breanna Harvey Dance
Egle Ortego Developmental and Reproductive Biology
Sean Forte East Asian Languages and Literature
unfilled Early Childhood Education
Montinee Chahsirinont Economics
unfilled Education
Kristine Espinoza Educational Administration
Don Eads Educational Foundations
Tingting Reid Educational Psychology
unfilled Educational Technology
Ehsan Yavari Electrical Engineering
Eric San George English
April Greenwell Entomology
unfilled Epidemiology
Jireh Cebricos Food Science
Kyle Kaijihiro/ Marie MacKenzie (alt) Geography
Kendra Lynn Geology and Geophysics
Arnel Fergerstrom Hawaiian
Carly Sala Hawaiian Studies
Ed Hoogland History
Utsav Tiwar Human Resource Management
Reggie Cruz Kinesiology and Rehabilitation Science
Tina Sablan Languages and Literature of Europe and the Americas
Pablo Wegesen Library and Information Science
Brad Rentz Linguistics
unfilled Learning Design and Technology
Angela Richards-Dona Marine Biology
Don Krasky Mathematics
Sam Van Wesenbeeck Mechanical Engineering
Yunji Rao/ Annette Foerster (alt) Meteorology
Kent Koster Microbiology
Roberto Rodriguez Molecular Biosciences and Bioengineering
John Paul Brabant Music
Stephanie Natural Resources and Environmental Management
unfilled Nursing
unfilled Nutrition
unfilled Nutritional Sciences
Florian Hillenhagen Ocean and Resources Engineering
Seth Travis Oceanography
Joseph Halaufia Pacific Island Studies
Andrew Soh Philosophy
Brianne Hackett/ Patrick Stengel (alt) Physics
Heather Frey Political Science
Stevy Scarbrough Psychology
Mudassar Iqbal/ Solongo Tsetsegmaa/ LorMona Meredith (alt) Public Administration
Nichole Rahberg Public Health
Kelsey Nakashige Religion
Priscila Leal Second Language studies
unfilled Social Welfare
Emily Aleckson Social Work
Yuki Asahina Sociology
Michael Sheehey Special Education
unfilled Teaching
Teryl Garcia Theater
Wen Yi Cao Travel Industry Management
Eleanore Chuang Tropical Medicine
unfilled Tropical Plant Pathology
unfilled Tropical Plant and Soil Sciences
Gabriela Orantes Urban and Regional Planning
Jessica Maxfield Zoology

Executive Council Officers:

Jonathan Dial
Ph.D. student, Sociology


Penn Pantumsinchai
Ph.D. student, Sociology

Richard Mizusawa
M.Ed. student, Educational Administration
(Higher Education)

Executive Council Committee Chairs:

Amy McKee
M.Ed. student, Educational Administration
(Higher Education)


Duyen Bui
Ph.D. student, Political Science

Bret Polopolus-Meredith
Ph.D. student, Physics & Astronomy

Molly Green
M.A. student, Molecular Biosciences
& Bioengineering

Rachael Wade
Ph.D. student, Botany

Amber Camp
M.A. student, Linguistics

Camila Ortega
Ph.D. student, Molecular Biosciences
& Bioengineering

Adrienne Copeland
Ph.D. student, Biology


At-Large Representatives shall be from different departments; and shall not hold committee chair positions. At least one and up to three At-Large Representatives shall be unclassified graduate students. At-Large members are expected to attend the monthly Assembly, EC, and Chancellors meetings.

Nick Chagnon
Ph.D. student, Sociology

Leilei Shih
Ph.D. student, Oceanography

GSO Support Staff:

Kazufumi Taira
Ph.D. student, Educational Psychology

Seth Travis
Ph.D. student, Oceanography